EV & mobility

Electric scooter battery price in India: 2026 guide

In short

Electric scooter makers in India do not publish replacement battery prices, so ask the authorised service centre for a written quote. Hero Vida's 2025 launch prices value the battery at about ₹40,000 to ₹45,000, roughly 40% of the scooter. Generic 48V and 60V lithium packs were listed online at about ₹22,000 to ₹37,000 in November 2026. A battery bought on its own pays 18% GST, against 5% on a new scooter.

Illustration of an electric scooter with its floorboard panel lifted, showing the flat lithium battery pack beneath

Electric scooter makers in India do not publish what a replacement battery costs after the warranty ends. The clearest public clue is Hero Vida's 2025 launch pricing: renting the battery took ₹40,000 to about ₹45,000 off the VX2's price, so the battery made up roughly 40% of the scooter by our calculation. Generic 48V and 60V lithium scooter packs were listed on Flipkart at about ₹22,000 to ₹37,000 on 1 November 2026.

Key Takeaways

  • A new electric scooter, battery included, is taxed at 5% GST. A lithium-ion battery bought on its own pays 18%.
  • Ola, TVS and Bajaj give a 3-year base battery warranty with a kilometre limit and offer extensions. Terms change, so check them at purchase.
  • TVS expects an iQube battery to lose 20 to 30% of its capacity at around 60,000 to 70,000 km.
  • Worldwide, LFP packs averaged $81/kWh and NMC packs $128/kWh in 2025, according to BloombergNEF. The survey does not cover India or two-wheelers.
  • The PM E-DRIVE subsidy of ₹2,500 per kWh, capped at ₹5,000, pays on new electric two-wheelers. We found no provision for replacement batteries.

Halovolt does not sell electric scooter batteries. We make LFP and NMC lithium battery packs, our OEM team builds custom EV packs for vehicle makers, and the EV batteries in our shop are for e-rickshaws, e-autos and L-category cargo vehicles. Every price in this guide comes from a maker, a news report or a dated marketplace listing.

Why there is no official electric scooter battery price list

We found no published out-of-warranty battery price from Ola, Ather, TVS, Bajaj or Hero Vida. The TVS iQube FAQ gives none and says the iQube's batteries are non-removable. Bajaj's Chetak warranty blog says battery replacement is at Bajaj's discretion and lists no price. Ola's battery warranty terms list no price either.

The model-by-model figures on many websites are estimates, and they disagree with each other. The figures cited most often are old and unofficial. In February 2023, Rushlane reported Ola S1 battery prices of ₹66,549 for a 3 kWh pack and ₹87,298 for a 4 kWh pack, taken from a user's tweet. Ola never confirmed them. They work out to about ₹22,000 per kWh, and global pack prices have fallen to a record low since then (see the BloombergNEF figures below).

For a branded scooter, the practical route is a written quote from the maker's authorised service centre. Ask for the pack's kWh to be printed on the quote, so you can compare it per kWh with the figures here.

What Hero Vida's battery-as-a-service price shows

Hero MotoCorp launched the Vida VX2 in July 2025 at two prices for each variant: one with the battery included, and a lower one under Battery-as-a-Service (BaaS), where you rent the battery instead of buying it (Autocar India, 1 July 2025). The gap between the two prices is the clearest public figure for what a scooter battery is worth.

VX2 GoVX2 Plus
Battery2.2 kWh3.4 kWh
Ex-showroom Delhi, battery included₹99,490₹1.10 lakh
Ex-showroom Delhi, BaaS₹59,490₹64,990
Battery's value in the price (our calculation)₹40,000about ₹45,000
Battery value per kWh (our calculation)about ₹18,200about ₹13,200
Battery's share of the full price (our calculation)about 40%about 41%

These are launch prices, and Hero may have changed them since. A replacement bought later may be priced differently, and it is taxed at a higher rate (see the GST section below). The bigger pack also came out cheaper per kWh. Part of a pack's cost, such as the BMS, casing and testing, does not grow with capacity, which is one likely reason.

Capacity in kilowatt-hours (kWh) is the first thing that sets a battery's price, so start with your scooter's pack size. You can find it in the brochure, on the maker's site or on your invoice.

ScooterBattery packChemistrySource
Ather Rizta, smaller pack (from July 2026)2.7 kWh or 2.9 kWh, depending on cell supplyLFP (2.7 kWh) or NMC (2.9 kWh)Autocar India, 16 Jul 2026
Ather Rizta, larger pack (from July 2026)3.5 kWh (was 3.7 kWh)NMCAutocar India, 16 Jul 2026
Ather 450X and 450S (from July 2026)3.5 kWh (was 3.7 kWh)NMCAutocar India, 16 Jul 2026
TVS iQube2.3, 3.1 or 3.5 kWh; iQube ST 3.5 or 5.3 kWhNMCTVS iQube FAQ
Hero Vida VX2Go 2.2 kWh; Plus 3.4 kWhNot stated in the sourceAutocar India, 1 Jul 2025

Ather changed its packs in July 2026, and buyers of the smaller Rizta cannot choose which chemistry they get. Ather says the new packs cut its input and production costs, and the scooters' prices and warranty stayed the same (Autocar India, 16 July 2026).

Illustration of an electric scooter in a service bay with its floorboard removed, showing the flat lithium battery pack under the floor
Illustration: most scooter battery packs sit under the floorboard.

Aftermarket 48V and 60V scooter battery prices online

Generic lithium packs for scooters with a 48V or 60V system were listed on Flipkart at ₹21,999 to ₹36,675 when we checked on 1 November 2026. Treat them as dated observations of what sellers asked, with no maker or survey behind them. We left out listings whose stated capacity looked implausible.

Listing (as named by the seller)Chemistry as listedEnergy, kWh (our calculation)Listed pricePer kWh (our calculation)
AXELIUM 48V 24AhLiFePO41.15₹21,999about ₹19,100
AXELIUM 60V 24AhLiFePO41.44₹24,998about ₹17,400
PROSSPA 60V 25AhLFP1.50₹25,751about ₹17,200
ElectraVolt 60V 30AhNot stated1.80₹23,509about ₹13,100
ABC 60V 30AhNot stated1.80₹23,977about ₹13,300
Shiv Shakti 60V 32Ah, with chargerLiFePO41.92₹27,627about ₹14,400
Owntrica 60V 32Ah"Lithium ion"1.92₹28,722about ₹15,000
Owntrica 60V 32AhLFP1.92₹32,498about ₹16,900
PROSSPA 48V 50Ah (14S)NMC2.40₹36,675about ₹15,300

We worked out energy as listed volts × amp-hours ÷ 1,000, so each figure is nominal. On that basis the listings run from about ₹13,100 to ₹19,100 per kWh. One seller priced its LFP version of the 60V 32Ah pack ₹3,776 above its "lithium ion" version.

These packs suit scooters built around a standard 48V or 60V battery.

What sets an EV battery price

An EV battery's price depends mostly on its capacity, its cell chemistry and the cost of certifying it. Tax and the length of the warranty add to the bill.

Capacity in kWh

More kWh means more cells, so a larger pack costs more in total. Per kWh it can cost less, as the two Vida packs show.

LFP vs NMC battery cost

LFP cells cost less per kWh than NMC cells. BloombergNEF's 2025 survey put the average LFP pack at $81/kWh and the average NMC pack at $128/kWh. The average across all packs was $108/kWh, a record low and 8% below 2024 (BloombergNEF, 9 December 2025). These are worldwide averages across all uses. The survey does not break out India or two-wheelers, so read it as a guide to the gap between the two chemistries.

NMC stores more energy for its weight, which suits vehicles where weight and space are tight. LFP usually reaches thermal runaway at a higher temperature: our Technology page puts it at about 256 °C, against about 198 °C for NMC, and explains how LFP and NMC packs are built and tested.

AIS-156 battery safety certification

AIS-156 sets the safety requirements, including battery safety, for electric L-category vehicles such as two-wheelers. The Ministry of Road Transport and Highways (MoRTH) amended it on 29 August 2022 after an expert committee's recommendations. The new rules came in two phases: Phase 1 from 1 December 2022 and Phase 2 from 31 March 2023 (Tribune India, September 2022).

This is what each phase added, according to a trade-press summary by EVreporter. Some other sources list these items differently.

  • Phase 1: pack traceability, a pack-level fuse, protection against regenerative braking, cell spacing and a microprocessor-based BMS.
  • Phase 2: earth-leakage detection in the charger, EMC testing of the BMS to AIS 004, cell testing to IS 16893 at an NABL-accredited lab, thermal propagation testing, audio-visual thermal warnings, four temperature sensors and active parallel circuits or an allowed alternative. Our AIS-156 guide goes through the clauses.

Extra parts, lab tests and paperwork cost money, so a certified pack is likely to cost more than an uncertified one. That is our inference. We found no published figure for the difference.

GST on electric scooter batteries: 5% or 18%

A new electric scooter, battery included, is taxed at 5% GST, while a lithium-ion battery bought separately pays 18%. The GST Council cut the rate on all electric vehicles from 12% to 5% at its 36th meeting in July 2019 (GST Council). In October 2023, the GST fitment committee declined to cut the rate on EV batteries to 5%, because the same lithium-ion cells also go into phones and other electronics (Outlook Business, 4 October 2023).

The September 2025 GST changes put every battery under HSN heading 8507 at 18%. Lithium-ion batteries were already at 18%, so their rate did not change, and relief for EV parts was still under review at the time (pv magazine India, 8 September 2025).

On a battery priced at ₹40,000 before tax, 5% GST adds ₹2,000 and 18% adds ₹7,200.

Does the PM E-DRIVE subsidy cover a replacement battery?

Not as far as we can find. The subsidy is tied to buying a new vehicle, and we found no provision for replacement batteries. PM E-DRIVE pays ₹2,500 per kWh, capped at ₹5,000 per vehicle, on electric two-wheelers registered from 1 April 2025 to 31 March 2028 (Autocar India, 12 August 2026). In FY25 the rate was ₹5,000 per kWh, capped at ₹10,000.

Any scooter with a battery of 2 kWh or more reaches the ₹5,000 cap (2 kWh × ₹2,500). The two-wheeler budget is limited to ₹2,767 crore, so support can stop early if that money runs out. Reports from July and August 2026 that the subsidy ended on 31 July are out of date.

Electric scooter battery warranty terms by maker

A longer warranty is part of what you pay for: TVS and Ather offer paid battery warranty extensions priced from ₹4,499 to ₹10,500. The terms below come from each maker's own pages, except where a news source is named.

MakerBase battery warrantyExtensionSource
Ola Electric3 years / 50,000 kmCan be extended to up to 8 years or 1,25,000 km; price not listedOla battery warranty terms. Earlier reports differ, so check at purchase
Ather (450, Rizta)Not confirmed on Ather's site; check at purchaseEight70 add-on at ₹4,999 incl. GST: 8 years / 80,000 km, at least 70% battery health guaranteed, claims not rejected for deep dischargeAutocar Pro, 22 Nov 2024
TVS iQube3 years / 30,000 km (2.3 kWh); 3 years / 50,000 km (other packs)Paid extension, ₹4,499 to ₹10,500 incl. GST by pack and timing: 5 years / 70,000 km in total (5 years / 50,000 km for 2.3 kWh)TVS iQube FAQ
Bajaj Chetak3 years / 50,000 km1 year / 10,000 km or 2 years / 20,000 km more, if bought within 730 days and under 50,000 km; price not listedChetak blog, updated 24 Jul 2025
Hero Vida VX2 on BaaSBattery replaced free if its health falls below 70%; no duration statedNot statedAutocar India, 1 Jul 2025

Makers revise these terms. Read the warranty document at the dealer before you pay, and keep a copy with your invoice.

How long does an electric scooter battery last?

TVS expects an iQube battery to lose 20 to 30% of its capacity at around 60,000 to 70,000 km, depending on temperature and how the scooter is ridden. It also says the battery is designed to last as long as the scooter (TVS iQube FAQ). A rider who covers 30 km a day reaches 60,000 km in about five and a half years (our arithmetic).

None of the makers' pages we read gives a cycle-life rating for its scooter packs. If you buy an aftermarket pack, ask for its rated cycles along with the depth of discharge and temperature they were tested at. Our guide to how long a lithium battery lasts explains cycle ratings and depth of discharge.

Checklist before you buy a replacement electric scooter battery

  1. AIS-156 certificate. Ask for the certificate that names the exact pack model, and check that it covers Phase 2.
  2. Voltage, connector and charger. Match the pack's nominal and full-charge voltage to your scooter's controller and charger, and check the connector. A lithium pack needs a charger set to its own charge voltage.
  3. BMS. Ask what the battery's BMS protects against (over- and under-voltage, over-current, short circuit and temperature). Check its continuous and peak current against your motor controller.
  4. Warranty in writing. Get the years, the kilometre limit, the battery health that counts as end of life (for example 70%) and what voids the cover.
  5. The maker's service network. Ask the maker's service network whether fitting a non-original pack affects the scooter's own warranty.
  6. GST invoice. Ask for a GST invoice and keep it for any warranty claim.

If you build electric two-wheelers and need a custom pack, send your requirements to our OEM team. For three-wheeler batteries, see our e-rickshaw lithium battery price list.

Sources

Marketplace prices are listed prices on the date shown and change often. Calculations marked "our calculation" or "our arithmetic" are our own, made from the figures in the cited sources.

Frequently asked questions

What is the price of an electric scooter battery in India?

No scooter maker in India publishes a replacement battery price, so the public figures are indirect. Hero Vida's July 2025 launch prices value the battery at about ₹13,200 to ₹18,200 per kWh (our calculation). Generic 48V and 60V lithium packs listed on Flipkart on 1 November 2026 worked out to about ₹13,100 to ₹19,100 per kWh. Ask for a written quote that states the pack's kWh, so you can compare it per kWh.

Is battery replacement free under an electric scooter warranty?

It can be, within the warranty's years and kilometre limit and its definition of a fault. Some plans use battery health: Ather's Eight70 plan guarantees at least 70%, and Vida replaces a rented BaaS battery free if its health falls below 70%. Bajaj says Chetak battery replacement is at its discretion. Read the terms when you buy.

Is an LFP or NMC battery cheaper for an electric scooter?

LFP is cheaper per kWh, according to BloombergNEF's 2025 worldwide survey of battery pack prices. NMC stores more energy for its weight. Ather now fits the smaller Rizta pack with either chemistry, 2.7 kWh LFP or 2.9 kWh NMC, depending on cell supply.

Can I buy a battery for an Ather, Ola or TVS scooter online?

Marketplaces mostly list generic 48V and 60V lithium packs. Branded scooters use packs built for the vehicle, and TVS says the iQube's batteries are non-removable, so start with the maker's authorised service centre. Before fitting any aftermarket pack, check its AIS-156 certificate, voltage, connector, BMS and written warranty.

For homes & businesses

Building electric two-wheelers?

We sell no scooter battery, but our OEM team designs and builds custom packs for them.

For OEMs & enterprise

Start an OEM project

Reply within 24 hours from an application engineer. Your details are used only for this enquiry.

Request received

An application engineer will reply within 24 hours.